Candy Apple Vodka

I have had a small addiction lately.

I’m addicted to (making) alcohol.

Seriously. My closet looks like this:

20130529-195836.jpg

And my cupboard? Let’s not talk about my cupboard.

But I just finished one of my liqueurs today. And I thought I’d share.

20130529-200041.jpg

Candy Apple Vodka, adapted from Here

1 Granny Smith Apple, cored and sliced

1 cup Finlandia Vodka (or other semi-decent vodka)

1/4 cup Caramel Simple Syrup

Core and slice the apples, and place in a glass jar. Pour vodka over the apples, making sure you have enough to cover. If needed you can add more vodka. Close the jar and place in a dark, cool location. Allow to infuse for 3-4 weeks.

At the end of your 3-4 weeks, put vodka and apples in a blender (be careful not to spill! I made this mistake, sadly), and then strain and filter through a cheesecloth, and then a coffee filter (or muslin bag).

Set aside.

Prepare your Caramel Syrup. I made 1/6th of the recipe, and I still have plenty left. If you double the vodka recipe, you’ll still probably be fine.

Once the caramel syrup is cooled, add to your apple vodka. I used a shot glass and simple ratios to determine how much I needed to add (plus, I got a healthy taste this way!). I found it tasted best with a 1: 1/4 ratio.

So go on and add 1/4 cup of syrup to your vodka. Shake well.

Best served chilled.

*NOTE: Can be stored either in the refrigerator or in a dark, cool cupboard. I’m not sure how long it will last, but I suspect at least a few months. Let’s be serious, though. It’s not gonna last that long!

 

 

Candy Apple Vodka

One thought on “Candy Apple Vodka

Leave a Reply

