Musings

Once again, I don’t use this as often as I ought to.

I am out of work on time off right now, but I go back in a little under a week, where I will likely fall off the radar again.  I can’t help it, work has been crazy busy.  I don’t just mean “Oh, I worked a little overtime last week” busy, but rather I have been pulling 11-15 hours a day, 7 days a week, for three weeks straight.  I sleep 6 hours a night IF I’m lucky.

I love what I’m doing, but I’m just knackered, and the internet in camp doesn’t work so well at night.  So I thought I’d play a little catch-up while I can.

Drink of the Day: organic Santa Cruz cranberry delight

Forages of the week: I haven’t much time at home, and nobody takes care of my garden, so it’s gone a bit crazy, but in the last few days, I have harvested raspberries, strawberries, peas, lettuce, rhubarb, and calendula from my garden.  My mugwort will be ready to harvest next month when I’m home, and I can harvest my nettles now, I just have to get my lazy bum out there in proper clothing to do it.  My chives are good to go as well, but I don’t really like them dried, and I’ve been too lazy to go buy ice cube trays to store them frozen.  Maybe before the week is out…

As for actual foraging, today I picked a bunch of saskatoon berries in the local park, and tomorrow I have plans on stealing all the fireweed flowers from the railyard to make jelly.  If I get around to it, I’ve been canning and jamming lately, and I’ve got some recipes to share.  I just need some time to actually sit down at the computer.

Exercise of the week: cycling.

I’ve been trying to get out there on my bike every day that I’ve been home, to make up for the lack of it while I’m away at work, and I’ve done a pretty good job so far.  21km the first day I got home, 28km yesterday (followed by a massage!), and today I took off from cycling in favour of foraging this morning – but I made up for it by going to aquafit class this evening.  Such a workout!  I’m always surprised by how tired I am after just one hour of aquafit.  I can cycle for three before I start to hurt.  Hopefully getting back out there tomorrow, too!

And a little tidbit of exciting news.  I’m going through the process to buy my first vehicle!  It’s a 1994 Ford Aerostar in surprisingly good condition for its age, and I’ve already started making dirty-hippie-campervan plans for it.

Musings

Leave a Reply

