Food: Flourless Blender Pancakes with Blueberries

Okay, I’ll admit it.  I forgot entirely about this website.  But if you’ll notice, I’ve changed how it looks, and I’ve got (hopefully) big plans for it in the upcoming year.  As I drift further and further into winter – and yes, it’s still very much winter where I now live – I drift further and further away from the earth, and into the time-sink that is known as my new 9-5 job.  Sitting down here, sipping on some lemonade to remind me of sunnier days (well, it’s SUNNY, it’s just not WARM), I am reminded of the little things that float through my life like dust motes in the air.  

Little, important dust motes.

So look for some big changes in the upcoming future, and in the meantime, get your witchy self into the kitchen, pull out that big ol’ blender (or in my case, your Magic Bullet), and delight in this little recipe I found on the world wide web.

Magic Bullet.  Get it?

Flourless Blender Pancakes with Blueberries, adapted from Gluten Free Blondie

Ingredients (serves 1)
1 ripe banana

2 egg whites
1/3 cup oats
1 tbsp apple sauce
1 tsp ground flax seed (optional)
splash of vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon
dash nutmeg
frozen wild blueberries (that I picked last summer)
Instructions
Add banana and egg whites to the blender and blend for about 15 seconds, until they’re completely combined and a little frothy.
Add the rest of the ingredients, except for the blueberries. This includes: oats, apple sauce, flax seed, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. Blend for another 10 seconds or so until the ingredients form a consistent batter, and the oats are broken up a bit. (You may need to jostle the blender a few times to make sure nothing gets stuck at the bottom.) Mix in blueberries with a spoon, so the batter gets all over them.*
Place a small, non-stick skillet over medium heat and coat with cooking spray. Once skillet is hot, pour in the pancake batter and, if necessary, evenly spread out the batter with a rubber spatula.
Immediately reduce the heat to low, cover with a lid, and cook for 5 minutes. Once the bottom of the pancake is nicely browned and the top is set, carefully flip the pancake and cook for an additional 30 seconds or so.
Slide the pancake onto a plate, add your favorite toppings and eat!(in my case, heaps of peanut butter, or a drizzle of maple syrup)
*original recipe says to add blueberries in the pan right after you pour the batter…but I found my blueberries stuck to the pan when I did this, even after greasing it, even after using a non-stick pan.
Food: Flourless Blender Pancakes with Blueberries

Leave a Reply

